List of current MPs who voted for Iraq war

Out of the 414 MPs who voted for the war in Iraq in March 2003, 139 of them are still serving in parliament (66 Labour and 69 Tory).

Many of them now serve as ministers in David Cameron’s government or lead the attack against Jeremy Corbyn in the Parliamentary Labour Party.

See below for the full list (courtesy of the Socialist Worker) – and for the Labour MPs who defied Tony Blair to vote against the war.

Labour MPs who voted for the Iraq war

Adrian Bailey – West Bromwich West (minister)
Kevin Barron – Rother Valley (minister)
Margaret Beckett – Derby South (minister)
Hilary Benn – Leeds Central (minister)
Clive Betts – Sheffield, Attercliffe (minister)
Ben Bradshaw – Exeter (minister)
Nick Brown – Newcastle upon Tyne East and Wallsend (minister)
Chris Bryant – Rhondda (minister)
Andy Burnham – Leigh (minister)
Alan Campbell – Tynemouth
Ann Clwyd – Cynon Valley (minister)
Vernon Coaker – Gedling
Ann Coffey – Stockport (minister)
Yvette Cooper – Pontefract and Castleford (minister)
Jon Cruddas – Dagenham
Jim Cunningham – Coventry South (minister)
Wayne David – Caerphilly (minister)
Geraint Davies – Croydon Central (minister)
Jim Dowd – Lewisham West (minister)
Angela Eagle – Wallasey (minister)
Maria Eagle – Liverpool, Garston (minister)
Louise Ellman – Liverpool, Riverside (minister)
Paul Farrelly – Newcastle-under-Lyme (minister)
Frank Field – Birkenhead (minister)
Jim Fitzpatrick – Poplar and Canning Town (minister)
Caroline Flint – Don Valley (minister)
Mike Gapes – Ilford South
Barry Gardiner – Brent North (minister)
Roger Godsiff – Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small Heath
David Hanson – Delyn
Harriet Harman – Camberwell and Peckham (minister)
John Healey – Wentworth (minister)
Mark Hendrick – Preston (minister)
Margaret Hodge – Barking (minister)
George Howarth – Knowsley North and Sefton East (minister)
Lindsay Hoyle – Chorley (minister)
Alan Johnson – Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle (minister)
Helen Jones – Warrington North (minister)
Kevan Jones – North Durham (minister)
Gerald Kaufman – Manchester, Gorton (minister)
David Lammy – Tottenham (minister)
Chris Leslie – Shipley (minister)
Ivan Lewis – Bury South (minister)
Fiona Mactaggart – Slough
John Mann – Bassetlaw (minister)
Rob Marris – Wolverhampton South West (minister)
Gordon Marsden – Blackpool South (minister)
Steve McCabe – Birmingham, Hall Green (minister)
Siobhain McDonagh – Mitcham and Morden (minister)
Steve Pound – Ealing North (minister)
Geoffrey Robinson – Coventry North West
Joan Ryan – Enfield North (minister)
Barry Sheerman – Huddersfield (minister)
Andrew Smith – Oxford East (minister)
Angela Smith – Basildon (minister)
John Spellar – Warley (minister)
Gisela Stuart – Birmingham, Edgbaston (minister)
Mark Tami – Alyn and Deeside (minister)
Gareth Thomas – Harrow West (minister)
Stephen Timms – East Ham (minister)
Derek Twigg – Halton (minister)
Stephen Twigg – Enfield, Southgate (minister)
Keith Vaz – Leicester East (minister)
Tom Watson – West Bromwich East (minister)
David Winnick – Walsall North (minister)
Rosie Winterton – Doncaster Central (minister)

Tory MPs who voted for the Iraq war

David Amess – Southend West
Henry Bellingham – North West Norfolk (front bench)
John Bercow – Buckingham (front bench)
Paul Beresford – Mole Valley (front bench)
Crispin Blunt – Reigate (front bench)
Peter Bottomley – Worthing West (front bench)
Graham Brady – Altrincham and Sale West (front bench)
Julian Brazier – Canterbury (front bench)
Simon Burns – West Chelmsford (front bench)
Alistair Burt – North East Bedfordshire (front bench)
David Cameron – Witney (front bench)
Bill Cash – Stone (front bench)
Christopher Chope – Christchurch (front bench)
Geoffrey Clifton-Brown – Cotswold (front bench)
David Davis – Haltemprice and Howden (front bench)
Jonathan Djanogly – Huntingdon (front bench)
Alan Duncan – Rutland and Melton (front bench)
Iain Duncan Smith – Chingford and Woodford Green (front bench)
Nigel Evans – Ribble Valley (front bench)
Michael Fabricant – Lichfield (front bench)
Michael Fallon – Sevenoaks (front bench)
Mark Field – Cities of London and Westminster (front bench)
Liam Fox – Woodspring (front bench)
Mark Francois – Rayleigh (front bench)
Roger Gale – North Thanet (front bench)
Edward Garnier – Harborough (front bench)
Nick Gibb – Bognor Regis and Littlehampton (front bench)
Cheryl Gillan – Chesham and Amersham (front bench)
James Gray – North Wiltshire
Chris Grayling – Epsom and Ewell (front bench)
Damian Green – Ashford (front bench)
Dominic Grieve – Beaconsfield (front bench)
Philip Hammond – Runnymede and Weybridge (front bench)
John Hayes – South Holland and The Deepings (front bench)
Oliver Heald – North East Hertfordshire (front bench)
Gerald Howarth – Aldershot (front bench)
Bernard Jenkin – North Essex (front bench)
Boris Johnson – Henley
Greg Knight – East Yorkshire (front bench)
Eleanor Laing – Epping Forest (front bench)
Oliver Letwin – West Dorset (front bench)
Julian Lewis – New Forest East (front bench)
Ian Liddell-Grainger – Bridgwater (front bench)
David Lidington – Aylesbury (front bench)
Peter Lilley – Hitchin and Harpenden
Tim Loughton – East Worthing and Shoreham (front bench)
Theresa May – Maidenhead (front bench)
Patrick McLoughlin – West Derbyshire (front bench)
Andrew Mitchell – Sutton Coldfield (front bench)
George Osborne – Tatton (front bench)
Owen Paterson – North Shropshire
Eric Pickles – Brentwood and Ongar (front bench)
Mark Prisk – Hertford and Stortford (front bench)
John Redwood – Wokingham
Laurence Robertson – Tewkesbury (front bench)
Andrew Rosindell – Romford (front bench)
Andrew Selous – South West Bedfordshire (front bench)
Keith Simpson – Mid Norfolk (front bench)
Nicholas Soames – Mid Sussex (front bench)
Caroline Spelman – Meriden (front bench)
Gary Streeter – South West Devon (front bench)
Desmond Swayne – New Forest West (front bench)
Hugo Swire – East Devon (front bench)
Robert Syms – Poole (front bench)
David Tredinnick – Bosworth (front bench)
Andrew Tyrie – Chichester (front bench)
Angela Watkinson – Upminster (front bench)
John Whittingdale – Maldon and East Chelmsford (front bench)
Bill Wiggin – Leominster (front bench)

Sign up for regular updates straight to your inbox

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay updated on the latest news and updates from around the Muslim world!

Other MPs who voted for the Iraq war

Gregory Campbell – East Londonderry – DUP (front bench)
Nigel Dodds – Belfast North – DUP (front bench)
Jeffrey M. Donaldson – Lagan Valley – Now DUP, then UUP (front bench)
Sylvia Hermon – North Down – Now independent, then UUP (front bench)

Labour MPs who voted against the Iraq war

Of 85 Labour MPs who defied Tony Blair to vote against the war, just 13 are still in parliament. They include five members of Jeremy Corbyn’s shadow cabinet and several others who have spoken out against moves to oust him.

Diane Abbott – Hackney North and Stoke Newington
Graham Allen – Nottingham North
Ronnie Campbell – Blyth Valley
Jeremy Corbyn – Islington North
David Crausby – Bolton North East (minister)
John Cryer – Hornchurch
Clive Efford – Eltham (minister)
Paul Flynn – Newport West
Kate Hoey – Vauxhall
Kelvin Hopkins – Luton North (minister)
John McDonnell – Hayes and Harlington
Graham Stringer – Manchester, Blackley (minister)
Jon Trickett – Hemsworth (minister)

Add your comments below

Previous articleNiqab ban enforced in Swiss canton with fines up to £8,000
Next articleHate crime soars before and after Brexit vote